MEAGS logo


MEACO is the strongest ophthalmic organization in the region and one of the 5 strongest ophthalmic organizations in the world . MEACO has committed himself to accomplish the mission of " enhancing ophthalmic training , continuing education and practice in order to elevate the eye care and reduce the visual impairment in the region". In this perspective MEACO is bringing all together the competencies and leaders of the region to optimize their efforts and give them the maximum chance to reach their goals. To develop sub-specialties in our region, the Middle East Africa Council of Ophthalmology ( MEACO) launched five subspecialty societies On the 27 March 2009, during its 10th congress, These are the Middle East Africa Glaucoma Society (MEAGS) , Middle East Africa Cataract and Refractive Surgery Society (MEACRS), , Middle East Africa Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Society (MEAPOSS), Middle East Africa Oculoplastic Society (MEAOPS) and Middle East Africa Vitreo-Retinal Society (MEAVRS).

The Middle East Africa Glaucoma Society (MEAGS) is the result of the merge of the Pan African Glaucoma Society and the African Society of Glaucoma . Constitutive assembly of was held in Cairo on December 16th, 2009
The attendees were :
Dr. Abdulaziz AlRajhi, President, MEACO
Dr. Amel Ouertani, President, Africa Glaucoma Society (AGS)
Dr. Fathi ElSayyed, President, Pan Arab Glaucoma Society (PAGS)
Dr. Mostafa Yaqub, General Secretary, Pan Arab Glaucoma Society
Dr. Mustafa Nassar, Board Member, Africa Glaucoma Society
Dr. Mohammed Abu ElAinain, Board Member, Africa Glaucoma Society




                                                     Copyright © 2010